Still Haven’t Found What You Are Looking For (Part II)

In our continued quest to help answer the question some of you have been asking publicly and privately, I thought I’d share an easy to use resource for developing a list of potential church homes in your area.

Mark Dever is an incredibly smart, wise and credible pastor and evangelical leader.  He is part of the Gospel Coalition, and he has a ministry known as 9Marks.

9Marks exists to equip church leaders with a biblical vision and practical resources for displaying God’s glory to the nations through healthy churches.  They provide a zip code and geographical map for users to find a local church that meets the criterion of the 9Marks ministry.  I don’t mean to suggest that 9Marks has it all figured out or that they represent everything I would want in a church.  However, it is a solid group that can help get you started or help refine your search for a new church home.  If you click on the previous words “geographical map” it will take you to a “church finder” that may be useful to you or others you know in forming a list of churches, albeit not exhaustive, to check out.  Blessings.

This entry was posted in Harvest Bible Chapel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still Haven’t Found What You Are Looking For (Part II)

  1. Mike Sagan says:

    About how big is the church that David Jones pastors? We are considering transferring there from Harvest but I don’t want to put my family back into another mega church environment.

    • Mike,

      I’m not on staff, so I don’t know the hard numbers. If I had to guess, I’d say around 700 or so. But it’s definitely not a mega church.

      • There is also no intention of becoming one. There desire is to grow and send out.

        • Mike Sagan says:

          Thanks for the replies. I also should have asked if his church is a reformed church (doctrines of grace are taught). Do you know?

          • Check out the Evangelical Free Church web site for a more detailed doctrinal statement. E Free is a diverse denomination, so it varies from church to church where they put their systematic emphasis. I don’t detect overly Reformed notes there, but I am fairly new.

Comments are closed.