The Sunday Seven

March 3, 2012

Welcome to “The Sunday Seven.”  This week’s edition is brought to you a day early, mostly because I anticipate a busy evening and an even busier Sunday afternoon.  Nevertheless, these articles represent some of the more interesting news and insights I encountered this week.  Hopefully, there’s something here that will peak your interest and give you pause to think.

From the Files of “Man, I Wish Tim Keller Was My Pastor” …

In this excellent article on creation, evolution and the intersection between science and faith, Tim Keller lays out a tremendously high call for pastors – a call few appear willing to take

Probably Would Have Seen a Few of these …

Six Insane Sequels that Almost Ruined Classic Movies.   Perhaps my favorite item on this week’s list. Just look at a few of the titles:  Ei8ht, Gladiator 2, Casablanca 2: Brazzaville,  and my personal favorite written by Spielberg himself, E.T. 2: Nocturnal Fears.  Don’t know how I stumbled onto this article, but you are welcome!

Are Contemporary Worship Leaders Undermining the Gospel?

Idolizing “Youth Culture” in Worship.  A great discussion on the disposable nature of contemporary worship and the damage it is doing to the presentation of the Gospel of Jesus the Christ.

Shifts in Public Opinion on Abortion Lead to New State Laws …

Public Opinion Polls Related to Abortion16 years of polling data that demonstrates a shift in how America perceives the moral status of an unborn child.

New Report Reveals Major Pro-Life Gains Undermining Roe v. Wade.  Significant shifts in public opinion related to the moral status of unborn babies have lead to a record number of states proposing pro-life laws in 2011.

What a Fantastic Question …

Go Beyond the Sex Questions.  In a secular and Christian culture that is saturated by sex, Trevin Wax offers an insightful question at the end of his article that should become the standard.

And Lastly, a Profound Question from our Friend the Philosoraptor …

This entry was posted in Sunday Seven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sunday Seven

  1. Josh The Younger says:

    Ok, this week certainly lived up the hype last week created (in my mind anyway). The Philosoraptor is officially the highlight of my week. 😀

  2. Bob Bryant says:

    Love pastor Keller. Any plans to revisit and finish the series about thesis. Been reading a book that uses this language from writings from St. John of the cross and St. Teresa of Avila. Just curious. Also, would like to hear your thoughts about the convivencia in Spain. Kind of random I know, somewhat like the philosoraptor this week! Hope your weekend is not to busy brother.

  3. Mark Notestine says:

    From the Files of “Man, I Wish Tim Keller Was My Pastor” …

    Keller proposes a common logical fallacy (which I normally hear from atheists) when he says,
    “Many believers in western culture see the medical and technological advances achieved through science and are grateful for them. They have a very positive view of science. How then, can they reconcile what science seems to tell them about evolution with their traditional theological beliefs?”

    He is equating experimental and repeatable science in the present (medicine, technology) with non-repeatable reconstructive science of the past (evolution). Even though both areas try to use the standard inductive approach to science, the latter has much more difficultly precisely because it is not reproducible.

    Keller is also setting up a strawman by implying that if you reject evolution you must reject the other sciences, and vice versa. Surely people are smart enough to understand that “science” covers a broad range of topics and that it is not an all or nothing proposition.

    Keller doesn’t present any new arguements that I haven’t heard many times in years past (either in this article or the paper it is derived from). I am really not sure why you are so “wowed” by this article.

    As far as pastors taking up this calling, the implied assumption of the Biologos crowd is that if you study this then you must accept some sort of evolutionary framework. The Biologos crowd implies that young-earth creationism is only for the uninformed.

    The previous pastor of my church (Mel) and the pastor of my mother’s PCA church to took up this calling and came to the young-earth creationist perspective. So it is not an unknown circumstance.

    I get the impression that the Biologos crowd enjoy making ad hominem attacks on young earth creationist and cannot accept that someone can read all the same material as them and come to a different conclusion. They seem to not acknowledge this as a possibility.

    • Hey Mark,

      Straight up, I don’t take a firm stance on the issue of creation. I tend to lean in a certain direction, but I honestly believe there are faithful Christians on both sides of this issue, and thus, I usually try to take time to read judiciously from both sides. But none of that is why I loved this article. My love comes from the closing paragraph, which I will quote directly:

      “In short, if I as a pastor want to help both believers and inquirers to relate science and faith coherently, I must read the works of scientists, exegetes, philosophers, and theologians and then interpret them for my people. Someone might counter that this is too great a burden to put on pastors, that instead they should simply refer their laypeople to the works of scholars. But if pastors are not ‘up to the job’ of distilling and understanding the writings of scholars in various disciplines, how will our laypeople do it? This is one of the things that parishioners want from their pastors. We are to be a bridge between the world of scholarship and the world of the street and the pew. I’m aware of what a burden this is. I don’t know that there has ever been a culture in which the job of the pastor has been more challenging. Nevertheless, I believe this is our calling.”

      • Mark Notestine says:

        Scott,

        With respect to the last quote of the article that you like, I also agree with this specific conclusion as an expected responsibility for a pastor. I would also expect that elders need to take this responsiblity for themselves too.

        My other statements were directed specifically at those that publish articles/interviews on the Biologos site (“Biologos crowd”). I have read extensively from Francis Collins, John Walton, NT Wright, Tim Keller, Peter Enns, etc. on this subject and clear, mostly consistent, conceptual patterns appear across all their writings either explict or implict.

Comments are closed.