“The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn” (2011): A One-Minute Film Review

So you remember that feeling you had when you walked out of Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull?  You remember wondering: “What the heck was that?!”  Yeah, I hear you.  Somehow, the men who had given us Indy, E.T., Star Wars, Close Encounters, etc. had taken everything that was brilliant about Raiders of the Lost Ark and had pillaged and plundered it until it was only a hollow, cynical shell of its former glory.

Well, I’m here to tell you in today’s “One Minute Film Review,” that a spiritual heir to the greatness of Raiders has finally emerged.  I’m talking about Spielberg’s newest animated tale, The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn. Realized through the most vivid use of motion capture technology to date, the film is a perfect blend of light action and organic humor.  So if you’re looking for a fun way to spend a few hours with your seven-to-eight year old kid this winter, I highly recommend The Adventures of Tintin.

This film has been rated PG by the MPAA for adventure violence, drunkenness and brief smoking.

**********

Bonus points for the inspired, Hitchcockian decision to model the chief villan after Peter Jackson, producer of the film.  Don’t believe me?  See for yourself …

          

This entry was posted in Film and Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn” (2011): A One-Minute Film Review

  1. Peter Sipes says:

    Here I thought the villain looked like Speilberg.

    • I can see that. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a great picture of the villian. This was the only screen capture I could find. If you see the flick, you’ll see what I mean. From the hair to the pointy beard to the glasses … it’s totally Jackson.

  2. Josh The Younger says:

    Wow… I think Pete’s lost 50 pounds at least since he directed lotr.

    • That was too funny, Josh. When I started to read your comment, I saw: “Wow … I think Pete’s lost 50 pounds …” And my first thought was: “Wow, Josh is calling Mr. Sipes, “Pete.” And I don’t think Mr. Sipes needs to lose 50 pounds.” And then I realized you were talking about Peter Jackson. And I started to laugh at myself.

  3. Aaron Hoffman says:

    Ironic that Scott and Peter Jackson could pass for brothers I think!

    • You know … I don’t think I saw that until you just pointed it out. But yeah, I think Jackson and I do look a bit alike. Excellent. Next time that Facebook meme comes around, I’ll actually have a celebrity to post. Thanks, Hoss.

Comments are closed.