Do You Understand This Math?

In an effort to better understand the desires and expectations of the Millennial generation, Cisco Systems, Inc. recently conducted a survey of 2800 college students and young professionals worldwide.  What follows below are some of the fascinating findings revealed by this study.

  • 66% of job applicants will ask, during a job interview, about a company’s policy regarding access to social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter.
  • 33% of college grads reported that the option to access social media sites  on the platform of their choosing (e.g. employer-supplied laptops, cellphones, etc…) was more important than salary.
  • More than 40% of the respondents said that they would take less money if their employer was willing to let them use social media sites on work time, while also allowing them a greater flexibility to work from home.
  • 56% of the those polled also went as far as to say that if a potential employer denied access to social media sites, they would either decline the job offer or risk getting fired by ignoring the standing policy.
This entry was posted in Youth Discipleship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do You Understand This Math?

  1. AmyC says:

    Seriously found these stats shocking. While I enjoy social media outlets to stay connected, I recognize this is off limits during work time. Where are people’s priorities, especially in this economy?!! To use a phrase my Mom always says.. “get real people!”

  2. AmyC says:

    Seriously shocking, obviously these students haven’t been hit with real life yet in this economy!

  3. Rich Bennema says:

    “More than 40% of the respondents said that they would take less money if their employer was willing to let them … work from home.”

    The rest is just silly, but I’ll put in my vote for this one. I’m Gen X and I did this. And even on my worst days at work, I can always say “at least I get to work from home.” In retrospect, I look at that decision as my entry level dues into the remote workforce. Yes, finances were tight for a while, but I was able to interview as an established home worker. I am now 4 months into my second work from home job and I’m making the highest salary of my career.

    • Rich … I’m actually with you on the flexibility to work from home. When you consider the fact that many people have a 45 minute commute to work, which is done twice a day, you’re talking about an hour and a half of my life. That is absolutely worth something! Having said that, I think it’s an odd expectation for one to have that early in one’s career. I tend to think of that kind of flexibility being something that is given after you have proved yourself to be worthy and reliable.

  4. Josh The Younger says:

    Before I comment, I should probably say that I’m a teenager who does not use social media (unless you count emailing). I’m not at all surprised by stats 1 or 3 – to me there’s nothing wrong with asking about company policy or taking a pay cut for the benefits of social media AND working from home – but 2 and 4 were pretty shocking. There’s really not much more that can be said about it other than it’s simply irresponsible.

  5. Josh … it’s not the asking of the question, it’s what lies beneath that? By asking the question, the applicant is admitting to a desire to utilize social media during work hours. Check out these stats I found online. I haven’t verified them, so take them with a grain of salt.

    Human resource workers ASSUME that 0.94 hours are wasted by every worker during an 8-hour day. Human resource workers SUSPECT that 1.6 hours are wasted per day. Workers ADMIT that 3 hours are wasted in every 8-hour day.

    Again, I haven’t verified the stats, so take that with a grain of salt.

  6. Caroline Zak says:

    This makes me scared of myself. Makes me want to be on FB a little less. To me…it screams “addiction!!” So…I am taking this as a warning. 🙂 Its honestly kinda scary.

Comments are closed.