It’s Not About Wright, It’s About Willowcreek …

N.T. Wright is coming to Willowcreek!

Now, for those of you who don’t know the “Good Bishop,” I realize that this may not mean much of anything to you.  But I would argue that 100 years from now, N.T. Wright will be viewed in the same way that we now view St. Augustine of Hippo, Martin Luther, John Calvin, Johnathan Edwards, etc…   In other words, when history finally renders its judgement of Wright’s work, I believe that he will take his rightful place with the giants of the faith.

And that brings me to  my point.  Earlier this week, I found myself pondering why I was so giddy.  Clearly, I wasn’t going to get the opportunity to meet the man (although I secretly hope that it might still happen!). So why was I so jazzed?   Did I honestly expect to learn something “new” in the 45 minutes he has to teach?

It was Thursday afternoon when the answer hit me.  It’s not Wright that has me so excited.  What has me so pumped this week is the simple fact that I attend a church that would actually invite Wright to speak.  I attend a church that wants to challenge it’s people with a world class scholar. I attend a church that understands the nature of the Great Christian Tradition.  I attend Willowcreek Community Church.  And for the first time in a long while … I am overwhelmed with gratitude for the ministry of my home church.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Not About Wright, It’s About Willowcreek …

  1. Matt E says:

    So when will they invite Joel Osteen to speak? 🙂

  2. Next year, Matt, next year. Too much scholarly influence might blow the minds of the congregation.

  3. Bob Bryant says:

    Thanks again for the invite to hear him yesterday. I will be downloading the podcast to relisten to the message several times. I was attempting to describe it to martha and she likened it to be blasted in the face with a firehouse…a lot to digest that is for sure.

Comments are closed.